Welcome at IC Ethics!

IC Ethics Virtual Colloquium

Ethical Challenges of Contemporary Collecting

12 December 2020: 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 20:00 CET / 21:00 SAST
13 December 2020: 6:00 AEDT / 8:00 NZDT

Our first annual conference takes place in form of a half-day virtual colloquium via Zoom, in collaboration with the On Possible Futures Project / MICA Maryland Institute College of Art and in cooperation with COMCOL – ICOM International Committee for Collecting.

How can museums work ethically and responsibly with their communities during contemporary collecting initiatives? How have museums been adapting their practices to respect the dignity of the groups they intend to serve during their collecting or deaccessioning efforts? What ethical considerations do museums need to have during a state of urgency in a time of crisis? These are some of the important questions we want to discuss during our first annual
conference.

More information on our conference page.



Are you a museum professional interested in or dealing with an ethical dilemma? Would you like to discuss this with your colleagues? We invite you to be a moderator of our virtual open platform dicussions!

Please find all information below or on our IC Ethics Meeting Room page.

(French and Spanish versions are coming soon!)


IC Ethics Meeting Room

Dominant political power influencing museums’ programs

January 2021

Since many museums are often symbols of status, power and prestige of nations and regions, it is not uncommon that state or local politics endeavour to influence their programs. Even more so, some museums might be perceived as instruments of dominant political power. In some cases, especially those where museums serve patriotic educational purposes, nationalistic messages might be spread through their activities. That arouses many ethnical questions concerning muted voices, disregarded themes or ideologically appropriated interpretations.

Moderator: Dr. Lidija Nikočević, Board Member of IC Ethics
Introduction: tba

More information about the IC Ethics Meeting Room series, following and previous events as well as the recordings of the introductions >> on this page.


current challenges for the management and leadership of ICOM International

IC Ethics, among many other International and National Committees of ICOM, Regional Alliances, Standing Committees and Working Groups is fully supportive of ICOMs recent work advancing transparency, inclusion, diversity, democracy and sustainability, and we encourage all ICOM members and the leadership to continue and strengthen the work.

Following worrying developments, IC Ethics issued an open letter to the President, Executive Board and General Director of ICOM in June 2020:

Information on current developments, the correspondence between the committees and the leadership, as well as a large number of documents are now gradually available to all members of ICOM in the members area https://icom-museum.force.com/.


About IC Ethics

As dedicated museum professionals and ICOM members, we see the need for a broad and open debate about ethical dilemmas. With the new importance of museums as societal actors, ethical dilemmas are among the most relevant working fields. We believe that IC Ethics will be an essential and important addition to the International Committees of ICOM.

As an International Committee, it will be an open forum on ethical dilemmas for all museum professionals, a forum for reflection, discussion and sharing, thereby helping museum professionals to make more informed choices.

IC Ethics has been officially founded in Kyoto/Japan on Tuesday, 4th of September 2019, after being approved by the ICOMs Executive Board in July 2019. The initiators have received 171 Letters of Support from 38 different countries and four continents. In addition, five National Committees have supported the initiative with written statements.

Find out more about:

>>> Our mission (English, Français, Español) and rules (English)

>>> Chair, Board Members and Observer 2019-2022

>>> Our activities

>>> How to become a member

>>> How to connect